My life + Twitter = pretty awesome

Hey everyone!

It is Friday, and I just spent the last hour googling and pinteresting how to get my baby to sleep through the night?! Ah, any help!? This momma has not slept a solid night since… JUNE 2016. I know I am not alone in this, but I am getting a sore tummy from my coffee addiction! And baby led weaning?! I did not know it was a thing, but I feel like my baby Freya would enjoy it more than me trying to feed her. Which she does not participate in AT ALL! Tomorrow is another day.

What I should really do is make a shout out on Twitter!

But I digress… sort of

If I can find help on Twitter with a parenting problem, I am pretty sure that it will be uber helpful when I am a teacher! Having a vast personal learning network (PLN) is extremely important when dealing with young people. I feel like I am not old, 30 in a month- woot woot, and I do not know a lot of what young people talk about or like. Scary really. Having other educators knowledge at the convenience of your phone is a valuable tool.

Before ECMP 355 I did not use my Twitter account to it’s full potential. I really had no idea what I was doing. I still am lost a lot of the time, but I feel like I have come a long way. It really started this semester because I FORCED myself to tweet every week; and, like anything, the more you practice the better you become.

Here is my first retweet, ever! Not very professional and definitely NOT educational. Well, kind of educational, but not relevant to my teaching degree.

And her is my latest retweet; it is a definite improvement and it shows how far my tweeting has come!!!

I still have so much to learn about Twitter; but the only downside I can see right now that could be a challenge to teaching and learning would be all of the fake news that is being circulated now. Twitter could be an ideal vehicle for sharing fake news.

OK! Fantastic news! Alenna from ECMP 355 has TWEETED me about my parenting issues! This is awesome! This is definitely going to be a beneficial tool! AND maybe I will get some sleep! Fingers crossed everyone!

 

Well, my girls and I are off on Monday to Mesa, Az to visit my Grandma! We are all very excited for a break from the cold weather! So if anyone has any fun ideas of things to do with your kids in the Phoenix area let me know! I will see you all Wednesday from the city of “great people, quality service”! lol

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections, ECMP 455 winter 2017 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My life + Twitter = pretty awesome

  1. I totally agree with, trying to fully utilize all twitter has to offer, it is pretty cool to see how far you’ve come from twitting about Nick(spoilers he chose Vanessa). To where you are now, great post, keep up the good work!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

