Morning yoga!

Hey Everyone! I hope you all had a great winter break and are ready and refeshed to get back to life!

We have had an extremely busy couple of weeks in our house, Freya got her first TWO teeth and Amilee has been very busy practicing for her skating carnival that is this weekend!

My books from Indigo finally arrived and I have been so excited to read all of them!

Introduction

I would like to start by  going over what “perseverance” means as suggested by the Encinitas Union School District.

“Perseverance is the quality of never giving up, even when things get hard. When something is challenging, you can persevere and accomplish difficult tasks”

I would like to begin this session with a book that has nothing and EVERYTHING to do with Yoga, by reading the book “Walk on! A book for babies of all ages” by Marla Frazee. Here is a summary of the book as told by goodreads.com

Trying something new is never easy. Like walking, for instance. But aren’t you sick of sitting on your bottom day in and day out? Hasn’t lying around all the time become a little bit boring? This handy guide, both practical and inspirational, is here to help. With useful tips, common pitfalls, and Marla Frazee’s adorable illustrations, this book is perfect for anyone–from a baby to a graduate to a grown-up–who’s about to take a scary first step

I feel like this is an important starting point because the yoga that we will be doing can be difficult at first and I want to have a reference to something all the children (unless there are special circumstances) have learnt to do- walk.

I would also like to go around the class and talk about things that they are good at, or have learned to do. I feel like in Grade 1 most children will either be in an extracurricular activity OR know that they are good at something (colouring, playing with younger sibling/cousin, helping their caregiver fold laundry, etc).

After discussing Perseverance for a few minutes, or days, or whatever the time allows I would like to introduce another book “The Good Morning Yoga Flow” by Mariam Gates. This is one of the books I purchased off of Indigo, here is a link to the book.

Here are a few things that I love about this book:

  1. the vivid pictures will keep the children entertained the first few rounds of reading the book and the calming repetition of the story will sooth and relax the children as they learn the yoga postures.
  2. There is a 2 page spread that shows the different poses used within the book.
  3. The “Visualization- How I want to feel today” part of the book is amazing. I would love to do this with children everyday. I feel like this would be a great thing for all people to do everyday!eye-sock

I found a craft to go along with this session, eye pillows for the relaxation/meditation portion of the
yoga found at sunburstyoga.com. The materials are easy and cheap and I feel like it will help the kids learn to quiet themselves better if they have something covering their eyes. The materials needed are: knee high socks, flax-seed and rice, and lavender oil.

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

