Creation Tool- Lightshot

Our Class Reflection blog post theme this week was to choose an unfamiliar and interesting content and creation tool and to overview and review it; including its strengths and weaknesses, and weather or not it would be a good tool for teachers.

I started off really excited to try out Puppet Pals; so I tried to download it on my husband’s Samsung tablet but it was not offered through GooglePlay. I went to my computer and downloaded the Puppet Pals combo pack for roughly ten dollars…. and I could not get it to work. Apparently, it only works on Ipads and new Iphones- I have neither. Whoopspuppet-pals

However, it all worked out because I then decided on the Chrome extension Lightshot. I chose this creation tool because I feel like it would be very useful in my Learning Project and it was free. I had already thrown ten bucks out the window!

I found Lightshot very easy to install and it took only seconds to download. After it was downloaded, I tried it out on my Learning Project blog and it was pretty neat. There is an icon on the upper right hand side that looks like a purple feather.  I click on the icon and the whole screen turns dark with “select area” in white, using my mouse I made a little box that I could size and pick what I wanted to crop out. After cropping, the options to manipulate the picture include; pen, line, arrow, rectangle, marker (lighter and larger than the pen), text (makes a text box), colour, and undo.

While this creation tool is easy to use, it only works within the Chrome screen and will not work on the tabs or the whole computer screen. I wanted to show you a picture of the purple feather, but I could not. It also saves to downloads, which is a little bit inconvenient.

I feel like this tool would be beneficial to teachers because you can take any part of a website page, leaving material that is not relevant or appropriate. I will be using this creation tool often and I look forward to the opportunities it will allow me to do within my blog.

Thanks for reading!

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections, ECMP 455 winter 2017 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creation Tool- Lightshot

  1. I’m glad you reviewed this tool because I was torn between reviewing this and Youtube editor; I went with the video editor. I have a Mac so I always just use command-shift-4 to screenshot which is handy, however, you cannot automatically edit the photo immediately after capturing it. I was thinking this tool would be great for getting articles or pictures off of websites if the other content on the site is irrelevant or inappropriate like you mentioned. I have a lot of chrome extensions that make maneuvering around the web super efficient so I think I will add this to the group!

    Like

  2. This seems very cool, I definitely like using chrome so that would definitely be a plus for me, great post.

    Like

  3. anilakanwal says:

    I used paint shop to edit captured screen after using “prnt scrn” button on keyboard.
    But that extension would be easy approach for websites. Will try it out. Thanks for sharing ur review

    Like

Leave a Reply

