Edmodo and the PLN connection

What is Edmodo? How will it contribute to my PLN (professional learning network) and how will it contribute to my student’s PLN?

Edmodo is a social media site with an educational focal point. It is set up just like Facebook so teachers and students will feel very comfortable in the space and should be able to navigate it quite easily. Within Edmodo; students, teachers, and parents can connect, share ideas and expertise, help problem solve and share knowledge. It is a safe way for students to start their PLN. Edmodo creates a space where everyone participating will both learn and contribute to learning; this is a large part of one’s PLN.

This would be very helpful within a classroom because it would widen my PLN by connecting to students and parents. There are many tools within Edmodo that would help my understanding of what students and parents are looking for and expecting. For example, there is an option to use a poll. I feel like this would be a wonderful tool to understand what interests the users. However, I have recently realized that not all parents are actively engaged in their kids education. We had a “one school, one book” program at my daughter’s school, and I was appalled at how few families participated.

I feel like the students would really benefit from using a tool like Edmodo because it gives them the space to share their ideas, pictures, etc. without all of the inappropriate nonsense and false news that Facebook often has filling its pages. My little sister recently got Facebook and

A picture my 11 year old little sister painted from the YouTube by "Cinnamon"

A picture my 11 year old little sister painted from the YouTube by “Cinnamon”

I love to see what she has to say and what she is doing; this might be another option if she (and other students, our family, etc)  could share her art projects and everyday activities on a format like Edmodo so that the rest of us could see and comment on her progress! She has contributed to my PLN because she has taken a real interest in the popular paint nights that have popped up all over the place, but she has found a Youtube channel that can teach her from home! What an amazing personal learning project for her!!! I look forward to watching her artist skills grow as she continues to practice and communicate my interest by commenting on her pictures.

I will definitely try to use a platform like Edmodo (or whatever is available when I start teaching) as a way of communicating with students and parents; as well as a tool to help the students start their own PLN.

Thanks for reading!

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections, ECMP 455 winter 2017 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edmodo and the PLN connection

  1. I think Edmodo is a great tool for the classroom! I agree with everything you said. I think it’s a great way to communicate with parents and students. It is an easy tool to use, I had no trouble using it this week. I would definitely use it in my classroom!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anilakanwal says:

    Thanks for sharing thìs info. It’s a pretty good tool and you rightly said facebook is only for leasiure probably.

    Like

Leave a Reply

