Plan of attack

Hey there!

What a gorgeous week we have had! Amilee has been really enjoying playing outside in the snow this week and Freya has been loving all the fresh air and sleigh rides!

Amilee and Freya riding in the sled on the way to skating!

Amilee and Freya riding in the sled on the way to skating!

I have been spending a lot of my quiet nursing times thinking about what I should do for  a learning project this semester. I really want to do something that puts me out of my comfort zone a little bit, but more than that I want to be able to use the tool I have learned and bring it into the classroom with me. So that had me thinking, what kind of teacher am I really going to be?

Should I teach myself piano? I could be the teacher who gathers her kids to sing, and that would be lovely. Should I teach myself to sew, and teach my kids how to make little projects? I finally decided I would like to be the type of teacher who includes yoga into her daily routine for her kids. I know there are tons of benefits of yoga and kids and I am excited to find it!

Amilee really enjoys yoga; she likes to watch YouTube videos such as this one below. When I asked her which one was her favourite, she said “the Elsa one” and then she said “no, I like to do them all!”

We also have a yoga studio in Carlyle, The Lotus Tree, where they have kids yoga available. I have only taken Amilee to one session because it is on the same day she also has skating; but she really loved it. It was really high energy, which I was surprised at.

I am looking forward to learning about, and sharing, the techniques and benefits of yoga for kids.

Bye for now,

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in ECMP 455 winter 2017 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plan of attack

  1. anilakanwal says:

    That’s pretty good project. I will use your lessons for my boys too. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

