Summary of my Learning Project!

wp-1474905450472.png

My first Arm Knitting project for Ami!

When given the opportunity to teach myself a new skill I had a few barriers. What can I do with a newborn, only days after a Cesarean? Not a lot! I decided on arm knitting- and I am really happy that I did! Knitting has always been something that I had wanted to try, if I had the time. I am really proud of how far I have come, and I have learned everything from the internet!

wp-1475712716013.jpg

My second try at Arm Knitting a scarf!

My first project was a scarf for my daughter, Amilee. It took me a long time to figure out how to cast on the stitches, but as soon as I got that it was pretty easy! I tried a couple different YouTube videos but the Simply Maggie tutorials I found to be the best! I wanted to start off with something very small in case the baby needed something; and I really was not sure what I was getting myself into!

My second project was a scarf for for my friend, Katie, it was made with one skein of wool. I followed this tutorial. It took me a fairly long time; I had to stop and nurse Freya a couple of times during so it was nice to have my husband, Mike, nearby. This was a step up from my first scarf because it took a lot more time and wool.

wp-1476658071947.jpg

The wool I used for my third scarf

wp-1476658065703.jpg

My third scarf

The third project I made for myself! I used two skeins of wool, not one like previously, and I feel like this made a really large scarf and I do not think I would use two skeins and such a large wool; it is slightly hard to wear with a winter jacket. However, I do feel like it was my best attempt at a scarf up to date. I had also made it to Micheals in Regina and bought myself a fairly good collection of wool. It was pretty interesting buying wool, there are so many different types of wool for different projects.

 

wp-1477332957258.jpg

My fourth Arm Knitting Project

While I was in Micheals I found the most beautiful wool that I knew my Auntie Connie would love so I decided that I would make her a blanket for my fourth project! It was definitely a project that I had to commit a lot of time to because you use your entire arms to make the blanket big enough. As the wool was amazingly soft and warm, it was also extremely hot to work with! I was very impressed with myself that I knit a blanket, though I did stop half was through and unravel the whole thing because I did not feel as though I had kept my stitches tight enough. This was definitely a step up from knitting a scarf; I had to wait until Freya was down for the night before I could start!

 

 

I am most proud of teaching my daughter to arm knit, I feel like she did a great job and has a new positive activity to do in her life! Teaching someone really requires thinking about doing something like knitting in a a different way (how can I explain this to a 5 year old? ).

wp-1480368923744.jpg

My sixth Arm Knitting Project

My sixth project was to make a garter stitch using a much more difficult wool, it is extremely soft and delicate. I used this tutorial from Simply Maggie. It was very easy to catch on to new stitches now that I was very familiar with the original one. Plus, the casting on is the most difficult and it remains the same with all arm knitting projects.

I feel like there is a definite progression through my learning project journey; I went from not knowing anything about knitting, to teaching myself through YouTube to knit a child’s scarf to a blanket, to teaching my daughter to arm knit a scarf, and finally to learn a different stitch.

I now know that I like to knit, so I will continue to teach myself new stitches and to do more projects with Amilee, and someday Freya. I am thankful for the opportunity to sit down and learn something that I have wanted to learn for a while.

Cheers!

Roxann

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in learning project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

