A new stitch! I attempt to knit a scarf with the garder stitch!

Well hello again!

It is hard to believe it is almost Christmas! A girlfriend of mine told me she was finished all of her Christmas shopping- I have not even started! OMG!!! I have really not liked Christmas for as long as I can remember, it was always a time where we had to run all over the place and never really got in a good visit with anyone. I did not even put up a Christmas tree last year. We left on December 22 for all of the different Christmases we had to go to, and we left to go to Switzerland from my inlaws on December 26th. This year I have decided that I want to like Christmas again! I want to love Christmas for my girls… I have always pretended to love it for Amilee, but I feel like she is getting to be at the age where she will pick up how much I dislike it and she will too not like the holiday. My mom also does not like Christmas and she has cancelled it this year for herself, she says she would prefer to paint a room in her house. So we will have a friend’s Christmas in Regina on the 23rd and then we will pit in at my inlaws for the rest of it, and it will be good! I am not entirely sure where to begin my love for Christmas…. baking? or online shopping? I am voting for the latter.

I am back to teaching myself a new skill; the garter stitch.

I looked back onto the Simply Maggie website to see other projects she has accomplished. I was not too interested in doing another blanket because it was really wore at my arms because it needed so many stitches across. Maggie teaches the linen stitch and the the garter stitch. I found the garter stitch to be prettier so I thought I would try that one first.

Mike has been working a lot, so I really like that this one only takes 20 minutes. I am not too sure about other babies; but, mine does not like to sleep for extended periods of time unless I am cuddling her. She does basically sleep through the night though, so I am definitely not complaining!

wp-1480368847159.jpg

Since the big sale on yarn at Micheals I have been trying to use up my stash of Yarn & Needles yarn. I decided to use the Chunky Luxe in a dark purple. The chunky luxe yarn is very delicate, I had to remove my wedding rings because they were starting to rough up the yarn from pulling it over my hands so many times.

I am very excited to start making these scarves for Christmas presents!

 

 

Thanks for reading!

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in learning project. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new stitch! I attempt to knit a scarf with the garder stitch!

  1. Pingback: A Whole New Type Of Helping… – Always Learning

  2. Pingback: Summary of my Learning Project! | Roxann Waelchli

Leave a Reply

