A lot of chit chat, and a little arm knitting for Amilee

Well we have had a pretty exciting couple of weeks in our house. Amilee has been sick twice, and I got the weirdest cold I have had in a long time; it felt like I had whiplash, I could not even move my neck. Thankfully I am feeling better, but poor Ami has a cough now. Kindergarten is awesome!

Amilee has been having a hard time with new baby Freya; she loves her baby sister very much, she is not very happy with me lately. I have found there to be a lot of benefits to having my girls 5 years apart; but the fits that Amilee has been throwing lately are very uncharacteristic of her and not pleasant. Last week she screamed at me because I asked her to put away her clothes and she had a papercut; she threw another one because I MADE her walk home from skating (we had walked there, clearly) and she developed a hate for walking while she was on the ice. I am clearly a TERRIBLE mother, LOL.

wp-1479230975034.jpg

I will be the first to admit that I have not been spending the time with Amilee that I normally do; Freya needs a lot of my attention, I had a C-section so I could not move out of my recliner much for the first while, and she literally nursed all day. Freya is definitely becoming more independent so Ami and I are able to get back some of the quality time we are used to. Teaching her to arm knit has been a blessing, it is something that just the two of us can do; and I need both of my hands for her- Freya needs to be sleeping or with her dad. She really enjoyed making the video, and so did I – even though I felt like I was in a car crash from that awful cold!

Amilee really impressed me with her ability to arm knit! As you can tell from the video, she loves to chit chat, and she was able to knit and talk at the same time. However, it probably took her 4x as long to knit the scarf with all of that talking; I had to do some major editing so that my video would be less than 10 minutes. Amilee has decided she will make everyone scarves for Christmas; and I think this is a fabulous idea. This had me thinking about what kind of benefits knitting could have for children, so I looked it up and this is what I found from the Craft Yarn Council; fine motor coordination, reading, math, comprehension, and critical thinking. According to Imagination Soup:

Teaching kids to knit isn’t just a fun activity (which is is) but it’s also calming, most likely benefits children in school with math and literacy, and can lead into wonderful service projects. Also, because you’re using the right and the left hand, knitting engages both sides of the brain — that’s a good thing. Children in Waldorf schools even learn knitting prior to math as fine motor skills, patterns, and following directions lay the foundation.

This website focuses on traditional knitting, something that I would like to learn and also teach Ami, and it gives rhymes and helpful hints to help the student learn how to knit. It also includes a list of books about knitting; here it is;

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett
The Mitten Tree by Candace Christiansen
Knitting Nell by Julie Jersild Roth
Woolbur by Leslie Helakoski
The Three Spinning Fairies by Brothers Grimm
Martha Moth Makes Socks by Cambria Evans
Boys Don’t Knit by Janice Schoop
Phoebe’s Sweater by Joanna Johnson
The Surprise by Sylvia Van Ommen
Farmer Brown Shears his Sheep: a Yarn about Wool by Teri Sloat

I would love to hear from all of you if you think that knitting in a classroom is doable or if it is a pipe dream and would end up a disaster?

Thanks for your time

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in learning project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A lot of chit chat, and a little arm knitting for Amilee

  1. cassidyoesch says:

    She did so well for being only 5! I agree that knitting has great potential in the classroom… something I wish I could have pursued in sometype of practical applied arts class. What grades do you think knitting would be appropriate to teach?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! I think she did great too! I feel like Amilee’s age is a good time to try and start; so maybe kindergarten or grade one? It can always be made more difficult for those who catch on quickly!
    Thanks so leaving a reply!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Summary of my Learning Project! | Roxann Waelchli

Leave a Reply

