Coding? Computational Thinking?

Coding? What is coding? Why would I ever want to do this? Why do I need to know this???

 

Computer coding is the universal language of the planet. People who know how to code will be able to communicate across countries and cultures, be innovative, and solve problems more efficiently, with no barriers to impede their success. Learning programming at a young age helps your children solve everyday problems and get set up for a lifetime of opportunities.  from here 

 

Because I really do not understand coding, or how it is supposed to set up kids for a lifetime of success, I realized I needed to do a lot of research. Both as a teacher and as a mother. Is there something I am missing?  One of the benefits from the previous link is that is helps children learn a basic understanding of how computers work. I can understand why this would be beneficial. I am aware that I do not even realize most of what my smart phone could do! The other three benefits include computational thinking; creativity, thinking fluidly; and job opportunities.

So what is computational thinking? I decided this was something that definitely needed further research…

So.. I have realized how my Magical Forest Script teaches computational thinking and how I can link this to both being a parent and a teacher. I also realized that we use this approach a lot already. For example, my daughter has certain chores she must do every day, or before she does certain activities; she needs to clean up her playroom BEFORE taking out a puzzle; BEFORE school she must make her bed, brush her teeth, get her library book, get her hair done, get dressed, eat breakfast, put on her outside clothes, and THEN walk across the street. In the first example, there is a certain order that must take place; in the second, there are a bunch of scenarios that must happen in no particular order before she can go to school. Amilee is really into crafting right now, she will cut paper into a bunch of different pieces and then colour them and then glue them back together or onto another page, or use them as coins for her imaginary doctor office. When we bake together, we need to break down the tasks before we end up with our end product; getting the eggs from the fridge, cracking them, putting the shells into the garbage, etc.  I did not realize before that this is computational thinking; What needs to happen first? What problem can I solve so that I can move onto the next problem?

This is very obvious in these examples, but there are times in school and life when this will not be so obvious.

One of my best friend’s dad died on Thursday, and it has been very hard on her. She takes it one day at a time, she performs one task for his celebration of life at a time; and in the end I hope she will have closure.

I want to be a teacher; and I have had many obstacles come in my way of this. I got pregnant before I was done my BA, so I had to work on that, one class- one lesson, at a time. Now I am in the BEAD program; one class at a time. So many little pieces to go together to make the end result.

This really is what making the scratch helps to teach, each code you put in helps to make up the end result. I understand that now 🙂

 

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

