#ECMP355 #Saskedchat

Wow, my fist #saskedchat was kind of intense. I was actually nervous to participate. I am very fortunate that my best friend, Kayla Vargo, is a teacher, and pretty techy so she knew all about #saskedchat and said she would go on with me!

 

I really enjoyed participating in the chat, it was pretty slow going at first but as soon as I started having actual conversations with people I could not seem to catch up. I understand why participating in such events is important; it was interesting to see other peoples perspectives and to make professional connections.  I found all of the participants to be very inclusive and happy to talk to everyone. One guy, Kelly, even welcomed me personally, I thought that was very kind!

The theme for the night was inquiry based learning; which was a great fit for our class as we have all been teaching ourselves skills in our learning projects. In our direct chats we talked a lot about what actually makes someone happy, how and what they want to learn, and how to share it without expected to be graded on it. I thought it was very interesting. Having a daughter in Kindergarten, she does this all the time. She takes show and tell every day three. Sometimes it is a favorite toy, sometimes it is a craft she has made, or a special picture. There is no grade, just the happiness she gets from being proud of what she has, or what she has done.

 

 

I am m very much looking forward to this week’s #saskedchat, with Jason, though I have plans to participate in a murder mystery so we will see how that goes!

Have a great week everyone, and if you have any added thoughts about “show and tell” for older grades, let me know!

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections, learning project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #ECMP355 #Saskedchat

  1. cassidyoesch says:

    I love the idea of high school show and tell… Lot’s of time class time is used as a time to catch up with the students, might as well incorporate it into the everyday curriculum! It looks like the #edchat was a great time, unfortunately, I am never available Thursday nights with my night classes, so I am glad I get to see the impact within everyone’s blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

