My Digital Identity

I feel like mimagey digital identity is pretty slim. I started to research my digital identity by Googling my maiden name, Roxann Ecklund, the first picture I found was this one to the left; it is of my husband and I about 4 years ago! I also found my old Twitter account and realized  that my Instagram was linked to it! It also brought up an article from the Carlyle Observer about Dynamite Concrete, my husband and mother’s company. I kind of feel like my digital identity really does not exsist before I was married. This kind of worries me because most of the accedemic parts of my life happened before I was married. I was very active in university; I was a part of many groups around campus, protested, and had a lot of fun!feature

I then Googled my married name, Roxann Waelchli, and the first image that came up is a picture of my niece, Ainsley, and my daughter, Amilee. It was from this article from the Carlyle Observer. We took them to a playhouse in Fairlight for a tea party. My Auntie Connie bought each of the girls a book for Christmas about “Penelope”,a story written by a lady in Fairlight about her little playhouse that was built for three little girls and traveled around southeastern Saskatchewan. She brought Both of the girls really loved the book so it was a wonderful surprise for them to be able to have a real tea party in Penelope! I am not sure what this really says about my digital identity other than I am a mother and an aunt.

My Facebook, @roxannwaelchli Twitter account, and this blog also shows up. Obviously I need to work harder at getting a stronger digital identity that shows more than I am a mom and an aunt. However, what I do have as a digital identity is not negative. My digital identity has grown exponentially since this class and I am going to try and continue to give myself a positive tatoo of myself on the internet. I wonder if being a mother makes me a more qualified teacher, or if it will deter school districts from hiring me. What do you think?

Thanks,

Roxann

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

