The Power of Tech in Teaching & Learning

In class this week Alec discussed a lot about digital identity and what that means to adults and children. As usual, this topic really surprised me. I did not realize how positive the internet and its applications could be. I am wondering if I should do some research on some different ways Amilee could use the internet and/or a tablet.

Amilee has started taking piano lessons this year, I was really inspired by Alec’s story of his daughter who was able to go onto YouTube and find videos to help her learn how to play better. This brought up two different ideas; first, Amilee has no idea how to use YouTube and maybe I should be teaching her. I wonder what sort of crazy YouTube videos she would find funny; would she find her passion dubstepping? Or making cat videos…. ugh. One thing that we do use YouTube for is kid’s yoga, Amilee has been participating in videos from the time she was three. It is A Cosmic Kid’s Yoga Adventure, here the main/only character, Jaime,  will tell a story and prompt the kids to do yoga poses to accompany her. I love the videos, they are an awesome way for Amilee to feel like she is watching TV while also exercising and learning some really good poses to relieve headaches, stress etc. While I participate in Yoga at our local studio and also do it at home, I feel as though Cosmic Kids has fostered a love for yoga in Amilee that may not have happened without the YouTube channel.

 

My second thought was that my husband’s aunt manages a team for YouTube and she is the mother to a two year old and will have a baby in the the new year; will they be YouTube sensations?! Their mom knows tons about the program, will she encourage them to use it or will she keep them more sheltered from it. They live in San Fan, so the next time we get together and drink some of that delicious Napa Valley wine- I am going to ask her!

I have never heard the term “Sharenting”; which is not surprising- I learn a ton of new (hip lol) vocabulary in this class! I learnt that sharenting is a term used to describe the overuse of social media by parents to share content based on their children, as per Wikipedia. I am slightly concerned that I fall into this category. I certainly do not post everything that my children do; however, if I do post on social media it is of my kids because that is all I really have going on at the moment. When I was researching about Sharenting, I realized that there is a lot of discussion around it, there is a lot of passion both for and against it. There are also whole blog posts dedicated to ending “Sharenting Shame”. I had no idea there was so much controversy!

There was also class discussion about adult children who sue their parents for too much social media presence. This is something I had never really thought about either. I am careful to not put pictures of my girls on the internet that could be taken in the wrong way, or seen with the wrong eyes. However, there certainly could be pictures that I think are adorable that my kids might find terrifying. I am curious what will happen when my girls become teenagers and pictures of them and their peers will be readily available. Will this be a new way to cyber bully? Will there be certain types of walls, or ways to block such pictures?

I seem to always leave with more questions, and less answers.

Until next time,

Roxann

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

