Knitting, Take Two!

Last weekend, after making Amilee her scarf, we went for a girls’ brunch to the Happy Nun in Forget. We love going to the Happy Nun, a good friend of mine Katie Vinge owns it and she is an amazing chef! The Happy Nun hosts many musicians and my husband and I love to go out for an evening of great food and good music! On Sunday I had the Pumpkin & feta enchilada, sunny side egg, refried lentils, hollandaise, sausage & corn salsa. It was UNREAL! Image result for happy nun cafe

We were the last table Katie took so we had the restaurant all to ourselves, which meant Amilee could sing and dance on the stage! It also meant that we could get a good chat in with Katie before and after she cooked our meals. Amilee loves Katie and was very excited to show off her new scarf; Katie asked if I could make her a grey one, and luckily grey was the second colour I bought! So it was easy to pick out who my next project would be for- my good friend!wp-1475453026450.jpg

This Sunday Mike and  I took the tomatoes off of our plants around 8 am before we went for brunch with my Aunt Connie and Uncle Dennis; as soon as we finished it started pouring rain! It rained all day, so when we got home we decided to watch a family movie, Mike’s choice- Chicken Run, and I started my knitting! Of course, Freya would not go to Mike so she just laid under me while I knit away! It took me the entire movie to finish Katie’s scarf and I am sure I did not cast off properly because it started to unravel when I was finished. I tied it up the best I could and stitched the two sides together to make the scarf. Unfortunately, I have not been able to see Katie this week so a picture of me wearing it is going to have to do!

If any of you are looking for a great place to eat and enjoy some entertainment, please call my friend Katie at The Happy Nun @ 306-457-2560

All the best, Roxann

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in learning project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting, Take Two!

  1. This is such a great place to eat and go to enjoy local music talent! I’m so happy the Happy Nun is making a name for the little town of Forget.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Summary of my Learning Project! | Roxann Waelchli

Leave a Reply

