Tweeting

Well…. wednesday’s class really threw me from the nest (haha see what I did there?!)

I signed up for Twitter in 2012 when my cousin, Makayla, who was in grade 12 lived with us. The girls in her class were cyber bulling one specific girl and I wanted to make sure Makayla was not participating. Honestly, I have not really touched my Twitter account after she moved out.

ecmp-355-twitter

I was extremely surprised to find out all the uses for Twitter, but I was also really lost at times. The chat we started with the hashtag #ecmp355 moved along really fast. I did not expect so many people to join in and share with us. It was encouraging to see all of the educators in our area giving advice and recommendations.

Having a daughter in Kindergarten, I have really contemplated how I feel about kids using Twitter at such a young age. I have decided that I thought the grade one teacher in Moose Jaw did an excellent job with her Twitter. It was really neat to see what the kids had to say about their own work, in their own words- spelling mistakes included! I feel like it would be really neat to be able to open up the computer and have Amilee show me what she did at school that day, with her own words beside it. This is a pretty cool way for little kids to learn to use the keyboard, use Twitter, and learn how to spell and read!

I am excited to learn more about Twitter and hopefully I can use some of these applications when I am a teacher!

Until next time!

Roxann

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

