To knit or knot to to knit?

Oh boy. I am going to try and learn to knit. With a new born.

This is where I am going to showcase my attempt at knitting. It is not going to be easy, some days I cant even brush my teeth until after lunch.

First, I love Pinterest. I see all sorts of things that I want to make on a daily basis, from food, to painting my kitchen cupboards, to crafts, or how to organize my children’s toys. I see a lot of really cute things to knit, and I have emailed and tagged my mother in knitting patterns that.

Hold on the baby is crying. okay, and back!

So, my mother will not knit all any of the cute projects that I would like to have.. So I want to learn how to knit for myself. I have done quit a bit of researching (googling, pinteresting, and asking my grandma) and I have decided that my first project will be arm knitting.

This is meant to be quite an easy and fast knitting project, so I am hoping to do it in the 45 minutes promised in the tutorial video, and I am hoping that Freya is content for those 45 minutes because my arms will be busy.

I bought two different 20160921_141744.jpgtypes of wool last time I was in Walmart. Okay, full disclosure, I brought my grandma. Do you have any idea how many types of wool there is out there!? It is insane. My grandma really helped me to weed out the types of wool, there is a whole isle in the Estevan Walmart dedicated to the stuff. I do not know if this is because there are a lot of knitting enthusiasts in Estevan, or if all Walmarts are this accommodating.

Over the next week I am going to try out both the purple, mega bulky jumbo number 7 and the dark grey wool-up number 6 and report back which is the best for arm knitting. I am sure this will be both frustrating and humorous!

My baby is crying again, until next time!

Roxann

 

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in learning project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

