Blog # 1

Hey,

My name is Roxann Waelchli, I live in Arcola with my husband Mike and my two little girls Amilee, 5, and Freya, 3 weeks old. We love traveling, gardening, and trying new foods! We have been rennovating our 1906 home for the past 5 years and Mike is really great about helping me bring my Pinterest ideas to life!

wp-image-1512380903jpg.jpg

This blog is going to help me explore how to use technology in Education. Anyone who knows me, knows I am not very good at anything techy! I am an avid Pinterest user, and even got my 87 year old grandma to use it. Big mistake, she calls me all the time to reexplain how to see her favourite quilting websites! LOL! I also use Snapchat, though I am not that great at it. Learning about all of this is very out of my comfort zone, which is both exciting and scary! In the past two classes I have already learned about so many ways to bring technology into the classroom!

 

Technology changes so quickly that I feel like if I do not actively try to keep up to date with what is happening, I will fall very far behind. When I went into Amilee’s Kindergarten information day last spring there was a questionnaire we had to fill out and one of the questions was about tablet and computer use- if my child knew how to operate them. Mike and I believe that children should not be exposed to too much screen time so she does not know how to use an tablet or a computer. We do not even have traditional TV; we have a Roku with Netflix on it. Amilee has just recently learnt how to use the Roku remote, since Freya has been born. Having a baby sister who is up at night is a bonus when you get to watch cartoons to let them sleep in!  I asked her teacher if she would be behind in class because she does not know how to use these, her teacher was not worried at all- and was actually surprised that a 5 year old did not have regular access to a tablet and congratulated me on it.

I wonder if this class will show me that introducing technology to children at a young age is beneficial, or it will help reinforce what I believed before. Will I use the same parenting technique with Freya as I did with Amilee?

Until next time, thanks for reading!

Roxann

 

 

 

About roxannwaelchli

I launched this page for the ECMP355 class that will go towards my BEAD program from the University of Regina. I graduated last year with a BA in Religious Studies with a minor in Women and Gender Studies. I am a wife and a mom of 2 girls. Here I will be learning about all things techy, which is very out of my comfort zone! And I will also be blogging about my journey learning how to knit, and then teaching my 5 year old to knit too!
This entry was posted in Class Reflections, introduction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

